Oh, the places I’ve been

It seems like a good idea to help readers catch up on my life since I moved to Richmond with Happy. First, I will say that, unless I personally object to a trip, she generally takes me along when she goes out of town. There was a time or two, however, when I said I thought I’d better stay home. I believe one of those trips involved some animal at the destination. However, one of my favorite animals is the family’s “Granddog” whose name is Leo. He is a Bichon Frise, and looks like an energized puff ball. You’d think I would not want to visit his house, but it turns out that he controls himself more or less around me.

Leo the granddog

Leo the granddog

Leo lives near Seattle with Happy’s son and daughter-in-law, which is how he got to be the family’s Granddog. I’ve been to Washington a couple of times. I’ve been up in the Space Needle twice. Boy, is it ever high up there! Here I am in the restaurant. The first time I was there, it made me a bit dizzy to be up so high looking out at the city as it moved by – I even look a bit tippy. However, I soon discovered that heights can be fun.

Me in the Space Needle Restaurant

Me in the Space Needle Restaurant

One time when I was visiting Seattle with Happy and the family, we girls decided to let the men of the family explore the Science Fiction museum. Happy had been sick, so she sat out the adventure in the lobby with Glenda and me, and that’s where I discovered Gort. Remember him? He was the star in the classic 1951 movie, The Day the Earth Stood Still. Gort was hanging out in the lobby, just like we were. Boy is he ever big. I think Happy was a little shaky with the camera, especially after I said I wanted my picture taken with him. If you look at his right foot (that’s on the left side of the picture), you can see me down there if you look closely enough. Gort is so big that, even though she kept backing up and backing up, Happy cut off the top of Gort’s head in the picture trying to get us both in it. Happy was afraid that if she went back any further, nobody would be able to see me in the picture at all! Talk about feeling insignificant.

Look closely - I'm down there by his foot.  Hope Gort doesn't move.

Look closely - I'm down there by his foot. Hope Gort doesn't move.

Happy became even more nervous when I dared to climb up and sit on Gort’s shoulder. I thought she might have some sort of relapse before she got the picture, but here I am.

I'm up there on his left shoulder, which I might point out is a tad slippery.

I'm up there on his left shoulder, which I might point out is a tad slippery.

For comparison, a full grown 6 foot man would just about reach Gort’s elbow. Why do I always seem to want to get up in high places? Maybe it’s a genetic throwback to my ancestor who found herself in a pine tree, thanks to a crow. If they thought the Real Hitty was interesting and wanted to take her home, they must have good taste (no pun intended) in dolls. Personally, I like crows, who are really very smart birds. So does Happy. Maybe some day she’ll take a picture of me with one of the non-real crow figures she has in the house.

One of the other Seattle locations that I enjoy visiting is Pikes Place Market. It’s where I got my dog. Yup, I have a dog. His name is Pike. Wonder how I thought of that name. Here’s a picture of Pike in the kitchen of my old house with the family as it was at that time. Pike is the cute one in the front on the right.

The Hitty cousins in very early 2007, still in the old house.

The Hitty cousins in very early 2007, still in the old house.


Also in the picture, l-r in the back, are Maggie, Holly, me in the pink and white, and Joey. Joey is spoiled – he’s the only boy. In the front, l-r, are Judy Bee and Hitty Rae with Pike. Well, Pike is a boy too, and he’s also spoiled. We all love Pike. We have been thinking lately of getting a cat, but we are a little concerned about how Pike might react to that, so we’ve held off.

I’ve also been to Raleigh, NC a few times. One of my adventures there took me to the museums, which I found very interesting. Outside of the Science Museum is a wonderful water and plant garden, dedicated to Rachel Carson. You can see me standing there in the picure on the first post, About Me. I was very brave, and even got really close up to the statue of Rachel. Happy was nervous lest I fall in, but I’m made of birch, a hardy wood from which I get my personality.

Across the way, I met up with the Sauratown Woman statue of a Native American in front of the History Museum. Again, I climbed up to the highest point and demanded to have my picture made with her.

I think I have a lot in common with this brave pioneer.

I think I have a lot in common with this brave pioneer.

This is getting a bit long, so I’ll end with one final picture or two. Last year, we visited Happy’s niece, Eryn, who attends college in Chapel Hill, NC at the University of NC. While we were there, we found a fabulous and enormous sundial in front of the Moorhead Planatarium. I asked to have my picture taken in the gnomon (the piece that casts the shadow) which has an hourglass within an oval at the center.

Me in the center of the gnomon of the giant sundial.

Me in the center of the gnomon of the giant sundial.

Now for the part that is really impressive. Here I am, still in the gnomon at the center, with Happy’s hubby, George, beside me.

You really have to look closely to see me, but I'm in there.

You really have to look closely to see me, but I'm in there.


Now, you can really see how big this amazing sundial really is – or maybe I should say, how small I am in comparison.

So those are some of the places I’ve been. There are more, of course, but I’ll save them for another time.

HittyG

Leave a Reply

