It’s a beautiful day in the neighborhood

Sometimes, adventure is right in our own back yards. We have visitors here. There are several Sasha dolls in my person’s dining room even as I type this. One is a boy – she said his name is Gregor and he belonged to her own daughter when she was little. There is a pretty Sasha girl, too, also belonging to my person’s daughter. Sadly, the girl has lost her ability to keep herself together, and she is in pieces. I don’t think that’s any sort of mental breakdown, but just a physical condition. My person says she is going to re-string her. There are three more Sasha girls in boxes, too, and my person says there are even more of them, including two babies, back at the log cabin house. The mind boggles.

Sasha is so much larger than I am. When I first saw her, I was a bit frightened at how huge she was. It’s as if she is Gulliver and I am one of the little people or something. I was also extremely concerned when I first saw her because she was clearly injured, with her limbs and head askew.

Oh no - she's hurt.

Oh no - she's hurt.

Let me help you.

Let me help you.

It's going to be OK - just keep breathing.

It's going to be OK - just keep breathing.

I made some futile rescue attempts, but then my person informed me that she merely required re-stringing. What a relief. Her condition still looked painful, but again I was reassured that it didn’t hurt a bit, other than her dignity, perhaps. I recalled the time Happy Hitty’s arm came off, and she didn’t complain a bit, so I guess this business of not hurting when one’s limbs are detached must be true, at least when one is a doll.

Naturally, my next concern was if the other Hitty cousins and I were being replaced, as in literally or in my person’s affections. She assured me that, while she had a long history with Sasha dolls, I could never be replaced. We were different, and there was plenty of room for both of us, though certainly not in my house, which is Hitty sized.

Then my person announced that she was going to be sewing for the dolls and selling the clothing on eBay. The dress the poor de-limbed doll was wearing was one my person had made for her when she belonged to her daughter. It was a pretty blue and white print that I was admiring. But I got excited when she mentioned eBay since that’s where I came from. It turns out that there are lots of Hitty and Sasha dolls on eBay. The Sasha dolls, originally sculpted by Sasha Morgenthaler for whom the dolls were named, were always special dolls, expensive but sturdy. They have pretty faces, I think, and look like real children. They aren’t being made any more, though, which is too bad, and so they are special, just as I am because each Hitty is one of a kind (except for Hitty Rae who was mass produced by Robert Raikes, but we don’t talk about that around her).

My person showed me on eBay how some of the outfits for the Sasha dolls have been bid up to as much as $162, almost as much as a whole Hitty doll. Here’s one of the really pretty ones, still up for bidding. Not as much as the other, but it’s still a large amount and in the early stages of bidding. Seeing the prices of just the outfits gave me new respect for the pieces of the girl lying in the dining room of the Big House. I was told I was about to be even more impressed. Watch this!

Gregor sure is tall compared to me - watch what he can do.

Gregor sure is tall compared to me - watch what he can do.


Wow - I wish I had balance like that.

Wow - I wish I had balance like that.


Do you think I could learn to do that?

Do you think I could learn to do that?

Gregor is special. My person told me that when Sasha gets her new stringing, she will be able to do this too. The dolls are asymmetrical, and they are perfectly balanced. Pretty cool. My limbs have to work together, so I can move both arms or legs, but never just one arm or one leg at a time. My ancestor was the same way. Guess we are genetically related or something. But Hitty Rae can move her limbs separately. I wonder if she can balance, too.

Hitty Rae came out to show me she can stand on her head, too.

Hitty Rae came out to show me she can stand on her head, too.


The next thing I knew, Judy Bee was out, ready to show off her acrobatic skills too.
Watch me, Judy Bee cried.

Watch me, Judy Bee cried.


She can also stand on her head!

She can also stand on her head!


I’m not going to ask anyone else in house if they can do this too – I’m already jealous!

Leave a Reply

